Did you know?

photo of coming soon signIn Kentucky, they have very specific requirements about selling small livestock – and basically, you're out of luck if you only have 3 ducklings that you dyed red, white, and blue for the Fourth of July....

“Kentucky: One may not dye a duckling blue and offer it for sale unless more than six are for sale at once.”

According to the law:

KRS 436.600

No person shall sell, exchange, offer to sell or exchange, display, or possess living baby chicks, ducklings, or other fowl or rabbits which have been dyed or colored; nor dye or color any baby chicks, ducklings, or other fowl or rabbits; nor sell, exchange, offer to sell or exchange or to give away baby chicks, ducklings or other fowl or rabbits, under two (2) months of age in any quantity less than six (6), except that any rabbit weighing three (3) pounds or more may be sold at an age of six (6) weeks. Any person who violates this section shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $500.

History: Amended 1972 Ky. Acts ch 374, sec 1. –Created 1966 Ky. Acts ch. 215, sec. 5

So just make sure that you if you're selling or giving away ducklings or chicks – that they are over two months old, and in quantities of at least six!! Or better yet...maybe just sell the eggs?

Back to top

A Smarter Way to End Homelessness | Innovative Solutions to Help Fight Property Crimes | Counter Terrorism through LEEP | COPS Office and Campbell CCJG Partnership | Coming Soon...from the COPS Office