THE PRESIDENT'S TASK FORCE ON 21ST CENTURY POLICING

Ellen Scrivner

A Board Certified Police and Public Safety Psychologist with thirty years in the public sector and a record characterized by extensive experience in executive leadership and national criminal justice policy positions at the Federal and local levels. Recognized as a national expert on criminal justice policy, public safety and policing issues, and with a track record for creating innovative public safety initiatives responsive to pressing criminal justice needs. Significant Washington experience and appointed to the Steering Committee for the Harvard Executive Session on Policing and Public Safety (2009-2011). Currently, an SME on Police Reform, Serving on Monitoring Team for the Seattle Police Department, and an Executive Fellow, Police Foundation, Washington DC.

Professional history includes: Serving as a Presidential Appointee-- Deputy Director, National Institute of Justice (DOJ); and National HIDTA Director, ONDCP, Executive Office of the President. Prior to the Presidential appointment was Director of the John Jay Leadership Academy, John Jay College of Criminal Justice and on the Doctoral Faculty. Also served as Deputy Superintendent of the city of Chicago Police Department, Bureau of Administrative Services, and consulted to the FBI, Office of Law Enforcement Coordination (OLEC). Following appointments as a police psychologist for two major police departments in the Washington DC area, assisted in developing new Federal Office within DOJ, the Office of Community Oriented Policing (COPS Office). Subsequently became Deputy Director of that office, developed the Regional Community Policing Institutes and had oversight for the Police Integrity Program. Coordinated the *U.S. Attorney General's National Conference and Presidential Roundtable: Strengthening Police and Community Relationships (1999)*.

Adjunct Faculty appointments Included: University of Maryland; George Mason University; University of Illinois at Chicago-UIC; and Guest Lecturer-FBI National Academy. Recipient of the ACJS O.W. Wilson Award (2010). Elected to APA Division 18 offices, including Division President; Recipient of the Division's Harold Hildreth Award (2013).