Contact Us

To provide feedback on the Community Policing Dispatch, e-mail the editorial board at

To obtain details on COPS Office programs, publications, and resources, contact the COPS Office Response Center at 800-421-6770 or

U.S. Department of Justice
Office of Community Oriented Policing Services

145 N Street, N.E.
Washington, DC 20530

April 2020 | Volume 13 | Issue 4

Nominations are now open for the Fourth Annual Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing. This award recognizes individual state, local, or tribal sworn police officers, deputies, and troopers for exceptional policing efforts of proven efficacy.

The Attorney General’s Award is given for work in three areas: Innovations in Community Policing, Criminal Investigations, and Field Operations Eligible candidates for these awards must be rank-and-file officers, deputies, or troopers in non-supervisory positions and must demonstrate active, exceptional performance in one of these three areas.

Within each area, three awards will be made, to nominees from law enforcement agencies serving jurisdictions of different sizes. Member of agencies serving populations smaller than 50,000 are eligible in the Small category, those serving populations between 50,000 and 250,000 in the Medium category, and those serving populations greater than 250,000 in the Large category.

By distinguishing and rewarding these efforts, the Department of Justice strives to promote and sustain its national commitment to policing and to advance policing practices that are fair and effective. 

Within and across this country’s more than 18,000 local law enforcement agencies, individual rank-and-file officers, deputies, and troopers serve important and invaluable roles in their communities. The U.S. Department of Justice is committed to supporting initiatives and opportunities that reflect the importance of these individuals, and to recognize their efforts in keeping the nation safe.

To learn more, or to nominate an officer, deputy, or trooper, visit the Attorney General’s Award for Distinguished Service in Policing website. Nominations must be submitted by 8:00 p.m. EST, Monday, June 1, 2020.

Please direct all general inquiries to

Subscribe to Email Updates

To sign up for monthly updates or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your email address in the Subscribe box.